I have just started my second week of college. And I really wanted to post a blog about my first week this past weekend, but you know how that goes. ;)
So here I go...
Monday: Monday I have two classes one being my seven a.m. class and the next being at 10:50...right. :) So my 7 am class turned out to be pretty good. For whatever reason that morning, when i woke up at 5:45 I was happy and bouncing off the walls, which is a good way to start out any day...I just wonder if it's normal to start that way at 5:45...Anyway, :)I like my professor for psych a lot and the class thus far has proved extremely interesting. I've never taken a psych class before, and yes I have to take it, but I've always wanted to take one. :) Then after class got done an hour later, I had three hours until I had to go to my next class....so...I had no idea where anything was or what to do. Thus far I had only one class and no homework. So I went to the one place I actually knew where it was, the admissions building. Inside there, there is a lot of seating and tables and computers you can use, so it wasn't awkward to be just sitting there. So my sister and I sat on one of the comfiest couches ever and just waited. And waited. At about 8:15 my boyfriend popped up saying his teacher never showed up to class, so he sat with us and we talked. Then he went into the cashier's office to pay for tuition and other expensive crap. Now the cashier's office is directly in front of the couch we were sitting on and has a huge class window that looks out into that little sitting area. So Jimmy, my boyfriend, turns around and starts laughing at us. Now, my sister and i are not the tallest people in the world...we're 5'2...so sitting all the way back on that couch, our feet don't touch the ground. Jimmy is of course 6'5, so sitting on that couch his feet actually touch the ground. Anyway, Jimmy leaves a little bit later for his other class and Emily was lame and called her boyfriend and left...the stinker. So I'm sitting there, by myself and trying not to look awkward...
Jimmy popped back up and ta-da! His other class was canceled. So it wasn't too bad. :) And then my friend Brandon came up.
It was about half an hour before my next class when I realized I'd be going to class by myself. Earlier I had my sister and friend. This time it would be in a class with no one I knew...I was panicking a little bit...only a little bit...ok a lot a bit.
But it wasn't as bad as I thought it would be. My comm teacher is a psycho...I mean a psycho...he tries to be funny and shouts and cusses a lot. Most of the things he says are funny, but some I feel like they try too hard...And his comments are a bit sexists...anyway, that class proved extremely interesting and one of those you know you'll learn a lot. Our first assignment was to copy and paste a fairy tale (I chose Beauty and the Beast) and modernize it. It was a sweet assignment, since I like to write. :)
Tuesday:
I get to sleep in. :) My one class on tuesday and thursday isn't until 12:15. So it's nice to have the house to myself in the morning. There is no bigger rush then peeing with the door open. hahaha just kidding. My bio teacher is a little odd, takes a little while to explain things, but it's not to bad. And by thursday I had friends...and ok I already knew one. :)
Wednesday: was pretty much the same as monday, just with speech class in between the two other classes. It's a pointless class to me. But maybe I'll learn something. It's also a hybrid class, which means we meet once a week with work on the computer. It kind of pretty much sucks.
On thursday, I got hit on...yea...
I was waiting for my friend to get done with class, so I was sitting in my usual place in building one when I saw my friend Evelyn. I stopped her and we talked for a minute before she had to go, so I said bye and she told me have fun with my paper (I was doing my fairy tale thing) when this guy is like "you already have a paper?" this came from behind me, so to talk to him I had to turn around. So I answer yes, then turn back around. And he says something else again. So I have to turn back around to talk to him. I kind of don't want to talk to him, just work, so i turn back around to my computer. There is a thing called body language. Now, what does turning your back to someone mean? You Don't Want To talk!
This guy didn't get it. But I'm polite and talk to him, turning around and typing furiously to show I was busy. He then introduced himself as Matt and walked up to my table and talked to me for half an hour...I did mention a few time that I had a boyfriend, thinking he'd be deterred...but not. It ended with him asking me to go get ramen with him. I said no and he left...then came back just as i was texting my boyfriend that the whole thing freaked me out...ahahaha. Oh people...
Over al it was a pretty good week. It was tiring but fun. I'm very much enjoying college.
And just so everyone knows, yes I am going to community college and I'm just telling you it doesn't matter. People need to get over the idea that community college can't compare to a four year university. If community college sucked so much 4 year universities wouldn't except any AA degree received at one. Sure 4 years get sparkling reports but that doesn't mean the campus is perfect, the professors are better or the students smarter. Really, the only difference i ever see is that a 4 year is waaaaay more expensive then a community college. I'm happy to hear any responses, I just don't want to be mad fun of or looked down for going to a community college first. When i become a nurse I will be no less prepared for a job then those who went to UCF the entire time. In fact, I could be better then them. I will be better then them. So suck it community college haters!
Loooooooove, Laura
Tuesday, August 24, 2010
Sunday, August 15, 2010
One Day Left
That's it...just one day...
Then I'm a "legit" college girl! My classes start tomorrow!! And it's exciting...but not. I have a 7 a.m. class tomorrow (yuck) but my second class on that day...isn't for another 3 hours...I'll have three hours of nothing to do and no way of getting any where else off campus...total suckage. I guess it is kind of my fault that I don't have a license. But it's not my fault that my three previous car accidents weren't any of my fault either for which have sparked a kind of fear of driving in me...
I'm scared to drive.
and
I'm in college.
Not that i even get a kind of crappy cool first car. I get our 10 year old mini van...that I'll share with my sister...right. let me get right on getting a license...haha.
I don't mean to be bitter about it, but I get constantly teased about not driving. Constantly. While in some cases that would be motivation maybe to show up one day driving and say "FU!!!" to everyone...but it doesn't for me...
So. I will be stuck on campus for three hours doing what I've been doing the whole summer (reading books and going on the computer) I'll just be some where other then my living room couch... :)
It now seems so much less important what I pick to wear for my first day back to school...at least this year. I got new clothes anyway. It was tax free day. :)
Anyway, it's my last day before I go off to get lost and be all shy and awkward because i won't know like anyone. I hope I have a good last day. :)
Then I'm a "legit" college girl! My classes start tomorrow!! And it's exciting...but not. I have a 7 a.m. class tomorrow (yuck) but my second class on that day...isn't for another 3 hours...I'll have three hours of nothing to do and no way of getting any where else off campus...total suckage. I guess it is kind of my fault that I don't have a license. But it's not my fault that my three previous car accidents weren't any of my fault either for which have sparked a kind of fear of driving in me...
I'm scared to drive.
and
I'm in college.
Not that i even get a kind of crappy cool first car. I get our 10 year old mini van...that I'll share with my sister...right. let me get right on getting a license...haha.
I don't mean to be bitter about it, but I get constantly teased about not driving. Constantly. While in some cases that would be motivation maybe to show up one day driving and say "FU!!!" to everyone...but it doesn't for me...
So. I will be stuck on campus for three hours doing what I've been doing the whole summer (reading books and going on the computer) I'll just be some where other then my living room couch... :)
It now seems so much less important what I pick to wear for my first day back to school...at least this year. I got new clothes anyway. It was tax free day. :)
Anyway, it's my last day before I go off to get lost and be all shy and awkward because i won't know like anyone. I hope I have a good last day. :)
Friday, August 13, 2010
So much for keeping up with this...ahahah
Right...so...still talking to myself....and didn't keep up with this. ahahah. I thought about it...lol.
Anyway, my current adventures include shopping for a guitar! Ah!!! I've been wanting to learn guitar, especially since I graduated high school and had to leave behind band...music is my passion. :)
So...I've just been looking at cheap things because it's just a beginning one and I'll save up for one worthy once I actually have some kind of skill. I'm just worried that getting it cheap will be getting it crappy...So do i take the risk and just buy one and hope for the best...or buy something else with my money? I'm also buying it online...and sometimes you really just don't know what you're getting until it comes...so to buy or not to buy that is the question. Hmm...i shall have to give it more thought...
Anyway, my current adventures include shopping for a guitar! Ah!!! I've been wanting to learn guitar, especially since I graduated high school and had to leave behind band...music is my passion. :)
So...I've just been looking at cheap things because it's just a beginning one and I'll save up for one worthy once I actually have some kind of skill. I'm just worried that getting it cheap will be getting it crappy...So do i take the risk and just buy one and hope for the best...or buy something else with my money? I'm also buying it online...and sometimes you really just don't know what you're getting until it comes...so to buy or not to buy that is the question. Hmm...i shall have to give it more thought...
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
